You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Steve Augeri

Steve Augeri is an American rock singer best known for his work with Tall Stories, Tyketto, and Super Group Journey.


Drawing from a range of diverse musical influences to deliver a unique and personal take on the genre of melodic rock, Steve Augeri is an American rock singer best known as the lead vocalist for the rock group Journey from 1998 to 2006. Augeri recorded three albums during a successful eight-year tenure with the group that brought one of the world’s most accomplished rock groups back to the stage to perform for their millions of fans worldwide. He attributes his love and inspiration of music to his father, Joseph, and their many years of listening to Sinatra, R&B, Soul, and Country music on their Emerson clock radio. His grammar school music teacher, Fredrick Torregrossa, also had a direct influence by encouraging Augeri to develop and improve upon the potential of his voice and by casting him to sing Puccini’s "La Donna Mobile" in the school’s 4th grade musical. Initially studying woodwinds at New York City’s High School of Music and Art, Augeri switched to bassoon and soon discovered his love for classical music. Attending, and then teaching at, French Woods Festival for the Performing Arts summer camp, he supervised children from ages 6–16 for their Rock Band classes which as he states, was surely the original “School of Rock.” When Augeri’s tuition check for college bounced, he returned home to start a rock and roll band. Working as a session vocalist, as well as bartending and waiting tables, it was not until 1984 when Augeri received his first break and was hired as background vocalist for one of the world’s most renowned hard rock guitarists, Michael Schenker of UFO and Scorpions fame.

While in the market for a new guitar at Manny’s Music on NYC’s 48th St., Augeri met Jack Morer (guitarist) who together would form the critically acclaimed Epic Records recording and performing group "Tall Stories", along with Kevin Totoian on bass guitar, and Tom De Faria on drums. Tall Stories was nominated for “Best Debut Album”, and Augeri for “Best Debut Male Vocalist”, at the 1992 New York Music Awards.

Although Tall Stories raised more than a few eyebrows and made the melodic rock scene take notice, the rapidly changing rock landscape influenced the band to strum its last power chord in Paris on New Year's Eve 1995.

Never one to stay idle for long, Augeri soon forged a song-writing bond with Brooke St. James of Geffen’s hard-melodic rock band Tyketto, which in turn led to an invitation to join the group as their lead vocalist. The album Shine was released in 1995, with a subsequent tour of Europe resulting in the album Take Out & Served Up Live in 1996.

The challenge of balancing life at home as a husband to Lydia Augeri, and on the road as a musician, became even more complicated as 1996 drew to a close and he and Lydia welcomed their son Adam to the world. Augeri decided to stay closer to home and return to his father’s profession of carpentry by accepting a position with the GAP as a maintenance manager for their network of stores in New York City.

In 1997, just short of his one-year anniversary with the corporate clothing giant, and after an introduction from guitarist Joe Cefalu, Augeri received a phone call from both Jonathan Cain and Neal Schon and was offered an audition to front the legendary rock band Journey.

In 1998, Augeri was officially named the group’s fourth lead vocalist and the first "official" lead vocalist since the departure of Steve Perry. For the next eight years Augeri and the band toured almost constantly to reclaim their standing as one of America’s premier rock bands. The song "Remember Me", from the seven-times-platinum soundtrack album from the movie Armageddon, represents Augeri’s recording debut with the band, followed by the album Arrival in 2001, and the EP "Red 13", in 2002. The album Generations, released in 2005, would be his last studio album with the group, after his departure due to recurring vocal problems (from which he had been suffering since 2003) mid-tour in 2006. A final testament to his and the band’s success is attained when the live DVD of their Las Vegas concert, recorded in December 2000, titled Journey 2001, acquired platinum status.p>

Augeri’s departure did not diminish the requests of the many charities both he and wife Lydia supported over the past decade, all of which receive continued support with personal appearances and live performances: Journey to the Cure (Breast Cancer Foundation), Little Baby Face Foundation, Diamond Angels (Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital), and March of Dimes.

As of 2010, Augeri is set to release his first solo album, tentatively titled In The Moment. The album will be followed by a world tour that will showcase material from his entire career and feature a new group of musicians.

In 2010, Steve released the single "Riverside". He released another single entitled "Photograph" in September 2011. A third single "Hours In The Day" was released in September 2012. Two more singles - "For The Rest Of My Life" and "Behind The Sun" - were released in August 2013. "Home Again" was released January 2014.

In March 2014, it was announced Augeri had formed the supergroup Ünderwörld, alongside guitarist Kee Marcello (Easy Action, Europe), bassist Svante Henryson (Yngwie Malmsteen, Brazen Abbot) and drummer Virgil Donati (Southern Sons, Ring of Fire, Planet X, Soul SirkUS).


With Steve Augeri Band

Single Song Releases:

  • · Riverside (2010)
  • · Photograph (2011)
  • · Hours in the Day (2012)
  • · Rich Mans World (2012)
  • · Home This Christmas Time (2012)
  • · Behind the Sun (feat. Tom DeRossi) (2013)
  • · For the Rest of My Life (2013)
  • · Home Again (2014)
  • · Tin Soldier (2014)
  • · Faces (2014)
  • · Never Far From Home (2014)

With Tall Stories

  • · Tall Stories (1991)
  • · Skyscraper (2009)

With Tyketto

  • · Shine (1995)
  • · Take Out and Served Up Live (1996)

With Journey

  • · Song "Remember Me", from the movie soundtrack "Armageddon", (1998)
  • · Arrival (2001)
  • · Red 13 (EP - 2002)
  • · Generations (2005)